Sacraments are efficacious signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is dispensed to us. The visible rites by which the sacraments are celebrated signify and make present the graces proper to each sacrament. They bear fruit in those who receive them with the required dispositions. Catechism of the Catholic Church, Second Edition (Paragraph 1131)

We recognize that the Sacraments have a visible and invisible reality, a reality open to all the human senses but grasped in its God-given depths with the eyes of faith. When parents hug their children, for example, the visible reality we see is the hug. The invisible reality the hug conveys is love. We cannot "see" the love the hug expresses, though sometimes we can see its nurturing effect in the child.

Jesus touches our lives through the sacraments. Our celebrations of the sacraments are signs of Jesus' presence in our lives and a means for receiving his grace. The Church celebrates seven (7) sacraments, which are divided into three categories, thus:

Sacrament of Initiation

These sacraments lay the foundation of every Christian life. They comprise of baptism, confirmation and the Eucharist, below are details of when these sacrament are administered in the parish:

1. Baptism

Holy Baptism is the basis of the whole Christian life, the gateway to life in the Spirit (vitae spiritualis ianua), and the door which gives access to the other sacraments. Through Baptism we are freed from sin and reborn as sons of God; we become members of Christ, are incorporated into the Church and made sharers in her mission: "Baptism is the sacrament of regeneration through water and in the word". In Baptism we receive new life in Christ. Baptism takes away original sin and gives us a new birth in the Holy Spirit. Its sign is the pouring of water.

2. Confirmation

The Sacrament of Confirmation seals our life of faith (Baptism) in Jesus and confirms our commitment both to the Church and to the work of Christ in the world. Its signs are the laying on of hands on a person's head, most often by a bishop, and the anointing with oil. Like Baptism, Confirmation is received only once.
Catechism classes holds Every Saturday & Sunday (4pm - 6pm)
Age - 15years and above

3. Eucharist (Holy Communion)

The Eucharist transforms the worshipping community so that we may be people of hope and action. The fruit of our faith is love and the fruit of our love is service. As we reflect upon the principles of Catholic social teaching, we realize that we are called to work for charity and justice.

Catechism classes for first Holy Communion holds Every Saturday and Sunday (4pm - 6pm)
We are encouraged to regularly participate in the Eucharist to nourishes our life of faith. Its signs are the bread and wine we receive - the Body and Blood of Christ.

Sacrament of Healing
4. Reconciliation (Confession)

The sacrament of Reconciliation or Penance is one of two sacraments of healing. It is the sacrament that brings spiritual healing for Catholics who have distanced themselves from God by committing sins.

There are four elements involved:

  • The penitent's contrition for sin
  • Confession to a priest
  • Absolution by the priest AND
  • Satisfaction

Through penance, the faithful receive pardon through God's mercy for the sins they have committed. At the same time, they are reconciled with the Church community. The confession, or disclosure of sins frees us and facilitates our reconciliation with others.

Parish children are usually introduced to the sacrament around the age of seven when preparing for their first holy communion in the parish.

Individual Reconciliation (Confession) is available on Every Saturdays immediately after first Mass and in the evening by 5:00pm beside the parish Chapel

Reconciliation is also available by appointment; please visit the parish officer for more information.

5. Anointing of the Sick

Anointing of the Sick is also a sacrament of healing. It was once known as "extreme unction." The idea behind this sacrament is that we are all members of the body of Christ. When one of us suffers, all of us suffer, and all of God's creation suffers with us.

When one is struck down by disease or illness, the entire parish community is wounded. Thus, when the need is felt, please contact the parish office to celebrate this sacrament. Through the sacrament of anointing, Christ strengthens the faithful who are afflicted by illness, providing them with the strongest means of support. Jesus showed great concern for the bodily and spiritual welfare of the sick and commanded his followers to do the same. The celebration of this sacrament is an opportunity for the deepening of the faith of the community who are able to witness the faith and devotion of those being anointed.

This is a ministry of comfort. Through Anointing, the sick are reminded that Christ and the Church are in communion with their suffering. The Holy Spirit shares the blessings of health, trust in God, and strength against temptation.

Communal Anointing is celebrated at both Masses on Monday

Is any among you sick? Let him call for the presbyters of the Church, and let them pray over them, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord; and prayer of faith will save the sick man, and the Lord will raise him up; and if he has committed sins, he will be forgiven

Sacrament at the Service of Communion

These sacraments help members serve the community.

6. Matrimony (Marriage)

"The matrimonial covenant, by which a man and a woman establish between themselves a partnership of the whole of life, is by its nature ordered toward the good of the spouses and the procreation and education of offspring; this covenant between baptized persons has been raised by Christ the Lord to the dignity of a sacrament."

Catechism of the Catholic Church second edition (paragraph 1601).

Marriage is a sacramental relationship of the utmost importance to the community and the Church. It is a personal relationship of life giving love in which man and woman make the love of Christ present to each other and become a sign of the love of Christ to those around them. In marriage, the relationship of the couple is the sacrament that reveals the love of God for his people.

The couple and their wedding rings are the signs of this sacrament. We encourage those who are yet to regularize their relationship/marriage to do so by meeting the Parish Priest or visiting the Catechist Office.

In Matrimony a baptized man and woman are united with each other as a sign of the unity between Jesus and his Church. Matrimony requires the consent of the couple, as expressed in the marriage promises.

7. Holy Orders

"Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time; thus it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry. It includes three degrees: episcopate (bishop), presbyterate (priests), and diaconate (deacons)."

Catechism of the Catholic Church, Second Edition (Paragraph 1536)

In Holy Orders men are ordained as priests, deacons, or bishops. Priests serve as spiritual leaders of their communities, and deacons serve to remind us of our baptismal call to help others. Bishops carry on the teachings of the apostles. The signs of this sacrament are the laying on of hands and anointing with oil by the bishop.